McHardy Park

In 1870, Thorsten Lee homesteaded what is now part of McHardy Park. In 1972, owners Dr. Bryson and Hazel McHardy donated 35.85 acres of that land to the Brandon Lions Club for park development. In 1973, lacking funds, the Lion’s turned the property over to Minnehaha County and McHardy Park became the County’s first developed park. In 1977 the park was annexed into the Brandon city limits. The National Guard built a 50-foot tower overlooking the park in 1983. The tower has become a landmark. Through the years, the McHardys have donated additional parcels of land, bringing the total to 74 acres. The Brandon Lions Club played a significant roll in developing the park to including a footbridge, shelters, picnic tables, parking, and playground equipment. In January of 2001, the County deeded the park to the City of Brandon. A special thanks to the McHardy family and the Brandon Lions Club for providing this beautiful park to the citizens of Brandon.

McHardy Park is a 74 acre park that lies on the Southern boundary of the City. It boasts large picnic areas with shelters built along the beautiful banks of the Splitrock Creek.  The Park is equipped with playground equipment, softball diamond  and a sledding hill for winter entertainment. A foot bridge crosses the Creek, a 50-foot Observation Tower overlooks the park and a Handicapped Fishing Pier hosts a nice area for fishing. The Park contains a modern rest room.  McHardy Park contains several picnic shelters that can reserved by contacting:

Brandon City Hall
305 Main Avenue
Brandon, SD, 57005
Phone: 1-605-582-6515
FAX: 1-605-582-6831

There is a cost to use or to reserve these shelters.  To reserve please visit our online scheduling site by clicking here.